Happy Tuesday, and Merry Almost-Christmas!

Today on the HCC blog, I’ll be sharing my thoughts on a story published earlier this week over on one of my favorite online magazines, Plus Model Mag. It talks about a recent survey of plus-size women over in the UK, but I know that a lot of these numbers are still very relevant over here.

Here are some of my takeaways from the article, and an infographic from UK retailer Curvissa (scroll down to see the graphic):

  • 87% of us don’t think we are represented enough in the fashion media
  • 66% of us don’t think our unique body shapes are fairly represented
  • 80% of us don’t think store mannequins represent our actual body shapes (seriously, just because their proportions are bigger doesn’t mean that my arms are as toned and that I have an hourglass figure and a flat tummy…how will it lay on my body??)
  • We are stuck shopping online (HCC is guilty of this, as we are still in the early stages of our business, but more in-person opportunities are always being searched for so you can fall in love with it before you buy it!)

I really found myself agreeing with all of these sentiments, as a plus-size woman myself, and I hear these same things from my customers, family, and friends all the time. My commitment to the world is to be a major player in the rise of plus-size fashion and I, as a person and as a business owner, want to be at the forefront of the efforts to end size discrimination once and for all.

Please feel free to check out the rest of the infographic below, and I would love it if you commented below with your thoughts on these stats, and add any other sentiments you may have. I promise to read all of them and take them into account as I continue in my business and my mission!

What-Women-Want-infographic-1

To read the original article, click here.

Leave a comment